Pokémon SDK Wiki
Credits

Scenes (GamePlay)

PSDK was written from RPG Maker XP base. This mean the most basic scene protocol is working : making a class whose objects respond to main. With the evolution of PSDK we created a class called GamePlay::Base and started to specialize all the scenes from that. The goal of GamePlay::Base is to manage most aspect of the scenes :

Today we use GamePlay::BaseCleanUpdate which derives from GamePlay::Base and we would only have to define the following things :

The rest is managed or optional. To explain some methods, we'll explain the cycle of life of a GamePlay::BaseCleanUpdate child object.

Cycle of life

Here's a simplified diagram of the cycle of life :

diagram
Cycle of life diagram

The blue rectangles are methods you should never define yourself. The dispose method will dispose all the viewports that are stored in an instance variable containing the word viewport in their name. You can overwrite it to dispose bitmaps if you didn't used the cache, don't forget to call the super when you do that.

initialize

The first thing to do is defining initialize. This method can accept any parameter as long as they help to make the scene works properly. The initialize method has to call the super() (it creates the message window and try to prevent softlock from messages that wasn't terminated before calling the scene).

In the initialize method, the state of the scene should be the only thing that are created, graphics, viewport etc... should never be created inside initialize.

create_graphics

The second thing to do is defining create_graphics, it's better when the scene looks like something. This method is automatically called by GamePlay::Base so you don't need to call it explicitely.

When you define create_graphics don't forget to call super or create_viewport. The create_graphics from GamePlay just calls create_viewport

create_viewport

Usually, you'll never call create_viewport unless you need more than one viewport. The default create_viewport create the main viewport inside the @viewport variable. If you need more viewport, use instance_variables that contains the word viewport in it.

All the variables that contains viewport in their name will receive the dispose message from the dispose method.

update_inputs

In GamePlay::BaseCleanUpdate childs, update_inputs should be a public method. It's called automatically by update if no message are shown. You'll manage all the input there and return a boolean to tell if the mouse interactions should be updated or not.

update_mouse

In GamePlay::BaseCleanUpdate childs, update_mouse should be a public method taking the moved boolean argument. It's called automatically by update if no message are shown and update_inputs didn't returned false. You'll manage all the mouse interactions here and return a boolean that will conditionate the return of update.

update_graphics

In GamePlay::BaseCleanUpdate childs, update_graphics should be a public method. It's called each frame regardless of the state of the scenes. You should update stuff like animations here. This method should return a boolean that will conditionate the return of update.

Example of a scene that does nothing

To demonstrate the simpliness of defining a scene, here's a script that only show a random number and quit if you press the back button:

class MyScene < GamePlay::BaseCleanUpdate
  def initialize
    super()
    @random_number = rand(0xFFFFFFFF)
  end

  def update_inputs
    return @running = false if Input.trigger?(:B)
    return true
  end

  private

  def create_graphics
    super # Create the @viewport variable
    create_text
  end

  def create_text
    @text = Text.new(0, @viewport, 0, 0 - Text::Util::FOY, 320, 16, @random_number.to_s, 1)
  end
end

How to call another scene

To call another scene, you'll need to call call_scene(Scene, *args).

The call_scene method accepts a block with the parameter scene (that is the instance of the scene that was called). This block is called once the scene was disposed and is usefull to retreive the result of calling the scene (eg. choosen Pokemon).

Example :

call_scene(GamePlay::Save) do |scene|
  @running = false if scene.saved
end

It'll call the GamePlay::Save scene without arguments and will stop the current scene if the player saved (according to GamePlay::Save documentation).

How to return to Scene_Map

Some Menu Scene would like to return to Scene_Map (for some reason), if all the previous scenes used call_scene the best way to return to Scene_Map is to call return_to_scene(Scene_Map).

When call_scene is used by the previous scene, if return_to_scene is used by the current scene, the transition to the previous scene will not be performed unless it's Scene_Map. (This allow to skip various transitions).

When @running is set to false by the call_scene block parameter, the transition to the current scene is also not performed.

Pokémon SDK Wiki
Crédits

Scènes (GamePlay)

PSDK a été écrit depuis la base RMXP. Ce qui signifie que le protocle d'une scène basique fonctionne : faire une classe dont les objets obéissent à main. Avec l'évolution de PSDK, nous avons créé une classe GamePlay::Base et commencé à faire hériter toutes les scènes depuis celle-ci. Le but de GamePlay::Base est de gérer plusieurs aspects d'une scène :

Aujourd'hui nous utilisons GamePlay::BaseCleanUpdate qui dérive de GamePlay::Base et nous avons seulement besoin de définir les méthodes suivantes :

Le reste est géré ou optionnel. Pour expliquer certaines méthodes, nous allons expliquer le cycle de fonctionnement d'un objet enfant de GamePlay::BaseCleanUpdate.

Cycle de fonctionnement

Ceci est le diagramme simplifié du cycle de fonctionnement :

diagram
Diagramme du cycle de fonctionnement

Les rectangles bleus correspondent aux méthodes que vous ne devriez jamais définir vous-même. La méthode dispose va relâcher tous les viewports contenus dans une variable d'instance contenant le mot viewport dans son nom. Vous pouvez réécrire la méthode pour relâcher des bitmaps si vous n'utilisez pas le cache mais n'oubliez pas d'appeler super quand vous faites ça pour relâcher tout de même les viewports.

initialize

La première chose à faire est de définir initialize. Cette méthode peut accepter n'importe quel paramètre du moment qu'ils permettent à la scène de fonctionner correctement. La méthode initialize doit appeler super() (cette méthode crée la fenêtre de message et essaie de prévoir une fermeture douce pour les messages qui n'ont pas terminé de s'afficher avant que la scène soit appelée).

Dans la méthode initialize , l'état de la scène est la seule chose qui devrait être créée, graphics, viewport etc... ne doivent jamais être créé dans initialize.

create_graphics

La seconde méthode à définir est create_graphics, c'est mieux lorsque la scène ressemble à quelque chose. Cette méthode est automatiquement appelée par GamePlay::Base , vous n'avez donc pas besoin de l'appeler explicitement.

Quand vous définissez create_graphics n'oubliez pas d'appeler super ou create_viewport. La méthode create_graphics de GamePlay appelle juste create_viewport

create_viewport

Habituellement, vous n'appellerez jamais create_viewport sauf si vous avez besoin de plus d'un viewport. la méthode create_viewport par défaut crée le main viewport dans la variable @viewport. Si vous avez besoin de plus de viewports, utilisez des variables d'instances qui contiennent le mot viewport.

Toutes les variables qui contiennent viewport dans leur nom recevront l'appel de leur propre dispose depuis la méthode dispose.

update_inputs

Dans les objets enfants de GamePlay::BaseCleanUpdate, update_inputs est une méthode publique. Elle est appelée automatiquement par update s'il n'y a pas de message affiché. Vous gérerez tous les inputs ici et la méthode retournera un booléen pour savoir si les interactions avec la souris doivent être mis à jour.

update_mouse

Dans les objets enfants de GamePlay::BaseCleanUpdate, update_mouse est une méthode publique qui reçoit l'argument booléen moved. Elle est aussi automatiquement appelée par update si aucun message n'est affiché et que update_inputs ne retourne pas false. Vous gérerez les interactions de la souris ici et la méthode renverra un booléen qui conditionnera la valeur renvoyée par update.

update_graphics

Dans les objets enfants de GamePlay::BaseCleanUpdate, update_graphics est une méthode publique. Elle est appelée à chaque frame sans tenir compte de l'état de la scène. You pouvez mettre à jour les animations par exemple. Cette méthode va retourner un booléen qui conditionnera le retour de update.

Exemple d'une scène qui ne fait rien

Pour montrer la facilité de définition d'une scène, je mets à votre disposition un script qui montre seulement un nombre au hasard et se ferme quand vous pressez la touche Echap:

class MyScene < GamePlay::BaseCleanUpdate
  def initialize
    super()
    @random_number = rand(0xFFFFFFFF)
  end

  def update_inputs
    return @running = false if Input.trigger?(:B)
    return true
  end

  private

  def create_graphics
    super # Crée la variable @viewport
    create_text
  end

  def create_text
    @text = Text.new(0, @viewport, 0, 0 - Text::Util::FOY, 320, 16, @random_number.to_s, 1)
  end
end

Comment appeler une autre scène

Pour appeler une autre scène, vous aurez besoin d'appeler call_scene(Scene, *args).

La méthode call_scene accepte un block avec le paramètre scene (qui est l'instance de la scène appelée). Ce block est appelé une fois que la scène a été disposée et il est très utile pour récupérer ce que retourne la scène appelée (comme le Pokémon choisi).

Exemple :

call_scene(GamePlay::Save) do |scene|
  @running = false if scene.saved
end

La méthode appelera GamePlay::Save sans arguments et arrêtera la scène actuelle lorsque le joueur aura sauvegardé. (selon la documentation de GamePlay::Save).

Comment retourner à Scene_Map

Certaines scènes de Menu souhaiteraient revenir à Scene_Map (pour plusieurs raisons) ? Si toutes les scènes précédentes appellent call_scene le meilleur moyen de retourner Scene_Map est d'appeler return_to_scene(Scene_Map).

Quand call_scene est utilisé par la scène précédente, si return_to_scene est utilisé par la scène actuelle, la transition vers la première ne sera pas réalisée sauf s'il s'agit de Scene_Map. (Cela permet de passer différentes transitions).

Quand @running est mis à false par le paramètre du block call_scene, la transition vers la scène actuelle n'est pas non plus effectuée.